Home > Day to Day > Experiencing student dorm life…which I never did at Uni — Rest day in Thunder Bay

Experiencing student dorm life…which I never did at Uni — Rest day in Thunder Bay

Should be an easy day ahead – had an early interview with Ed Hand at 1310 News Ottawa (and was sorry to hear about the injuries causes by the sound stage collapse), then had breakfast.

I must pause here. “Breakfast” just doesn’t do it justice. I knew I was off to a good start when the cafeteria attendant asked if I was with the Firefighters. When I said I was with the cyclists she got a puzzled expression…then said “You’re not with the guy who is cycling across Canada and raising…” I interrupted and said “I AM the guy!” at which point she beamed and said “I can’t believe you are doing this! I am so proud of you! And I am going to buy you breakfast!” We shook hands and I ventured into the Emporium. Like Mary’s breakfast yesterday…and more! Tons of fruit, yogurts, oatmeal, 8 types of breads and bagels, coffees, teas, chocolate milk and milk and juices and…come back as many times as you want! I ended up with FOUR platefuls, two large glasses of chocolate milk, two large glasses of milk, two coffees… and a feeling of deep satiation combined with serene confidence that this will hold me till lunch! Back at my dorm room I feel my furnace blasting away, generating heat – the perfect time for a nap! J

Next I plan to maintain my bike – clean the drive-train, oil the chain and moving bits, tighten up all the bolts. I had a larger-tan-normal load in my pannier yesterday (anticipating truck failure) and started hearing knocks and clicks that, as I already mentioned, are NOT music to a cyclist’s ears. And then I will re-pack for the week, do weekly stuff, and then maybe walk downtown and explore a bit.

Our brand new truck has been breaking down bit by bit for the past few days. This accelerated when it couldn’t go over 50 kph, then couldn’t lower the rear platform, and then several warning bells, whistles and lights all roared into life. So last night we had to get everything off — tents, sleep stuff, eating stuff, pedicure kits, the lot. A new truck is supposed to arrive from Toronto today…and the staff + hired hands will have to move all the shelving, fridges etc. and have the new truck ready by this evening! Good luck!

“Fuelled by Equator Coffee!”

imageMost of my stuff…except the tent and sleeping stuff and eating utensils which are in the living quarters, downstairs
image

Drying…

Categories: Day to Day
  1. Sue Griggs
    July 20, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    Ilan

    keep on biking – what else can I say – love to hear that people are supporting you all the way. Love Sue

  2. jo
    July 20, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    Gee, that road is still under construction! Roni and I drove it last year until I saw a sign that said “MOM,s Way” , took a hard left and ended up in Minnesota! (Mom’s way stands for Manitoba, Michigan and Minnesota) Keep pedalling, smiling and you will be in Toronto soon!

  3. July 18, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    It is so wonderful to hear of the kind people getting behind you and Cycle 4 SchoolBOX. It must have been a truly wonderful breakfast…

  4. Reuven
    July 18, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    Oh boy,
    You will appreciate your king size bed when you are back home
    Reuven

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

