Home > Day to Day > Missing…

Missing…

Not as in ‘someone is…’ or ‘something is…’. This is in the sense of ‘what am I missing’, now that it has been over a month since I started the Cycle4SchoolBOX:

– My lovely spouse Gay

– Gay

– Gay and Magic (our poodle)

– Avi & Kath

– Other good friends: Ron, Electa, Keren, and so many others in so many places

– My far-flung family, including its latest addition, Jake !!!

– My coaching clients and associates

– Wild Boars

– Home: my bed, fridge,and every other lovely part of it

– Newspapers, magazines, e-zines…

– TV, movies, theatre

– Walking in Toronto

– Control over my time

So I had the urge to share these feelings. And at the same time I am deeply tethered to my stake and the purpose of my quest.

Thanks everyone for your continuing support!

Fueled by Equator Coffee!

Categories: Day to Day
  1. Rod Miller
    July 13, 2011 at 7:37 am

    Hello My Wild Boar Friend!
    As I drive the Baltimore Beltway each morning and afternoon, I imagine you pedaling through the wilderness. I hold you in my thoughts. And I wonder what you are seeing and feeling. Then I see your post and tears come to my eyes. I am with you, brother!
    love,
    Rod

  2. Gay
    July 13, 2011 at 5:07 am

    My wishes for you…

    For every km… a word of encouragement whispering in your ear,
    For every refreshing breeze …a grateful child with a new perspective,
    For every fragrant scent in the air … a hug from a friend,
    For every hill … a challenging roar of a wild boar,
    For every downward slope …a caress,
    For every drop of rain … a parched landscape bursting with blooms,
    For every patch of shade …glad tidings.
    For every noisy stinging, crawling thing …a Jim suit (lol – take THAT you critters!)

    We are truly blessed to have you in our lives!

    xoxoxo
    Gay

  3. July 12, 2011 at 9:11 am

    My dear Ilan, Hearing your longings and knowing your commitment, I am inspired to be more today in service of those who might only dream of a different life. Love you for your remarkable leadership. Daryl

  4. Sue Griggs
    July 12, 2011 at 7:56 am

    HI Ilan,
    We are also missing you – your huge smile, your sense of humour, the great conversations, and just the fact of being with you and Gay. We so admire what you are doing and after our recent trip to Nicaragua we are so pleased that you are doing this trip. The children, the parents and the teachers are very proud of you.

    Keep those children in mind as you peddle across the country – they are counting on you and we know that you are rooting for them all the way.

    Love, Sue and Harvey

  5. July 11, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    So what comes to mind about what I am missing since you have hit the road are the following
    :
    -a fourth person at the dinner table
    -a reason to save an aisle seat
    -the sound of gentle snoring during Doc Martin
    -a smile the size of Oklahoma, and a heart that is even bigger
    -someone to keep someone from driving me nuts…lol !!!

    Sooo…. with that in mind, I have tried to think of what could be done. I have decided that I will rig up a fishing pole to your helmet that will dangle a ripe juicy tomato from my garden about 3 feet in front of you. Perhaps that will keep you peddling through the tough times with thoughts and visions of all the sweet things that await you upon your return. We will just have be be patient in the meantime, but you will have to peddle like hell. GO ILAN!!!

    Kath

  6. July 11, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    Dear Aunt Lue — thanks so much for your kind and supportive words!

  7. Love, Lue
    July 11, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    God bless you, Ilan. Perhaps it will comfort you a little as you realize that most of the people for whom you are enduring this gigantic undertaking, never experienced some of the things you are missing. When you visit them – in their schools (for which you have sacrificed so much) – you will even more feel you can identify with them in their needs.

    As you have started a very strenuous week, may you experience the strength, peace, and rest that God gives so freely when we ask Him for it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

