Home > Uncategorized > So many have helped me …

So many have helped me …

The list of financial backers and donors is growing longer each day and is really gratifying. At the same time I owe real gratitude to the many who have helped me get here in other ways. This is a small tribute to you…and I hope I won’t overlook anyone!

Bloor-Avenue Chiropractic clinic. I would not have been able to contemplate this ride without the superb treatments and excellent advice given me by Dr. Kathleen O’hara and the other professionals and staff at the Bloor-Avenue Chiropractic clinic. Most notable is the near total elimination of my lower back pain, which had previously prevented me from any exertion for days  at a time.

Jennifer Simon. I called on Jen to pick her brain and draw on her wealth of fund-raising expertise and experience. A lot of our early thinking about the blog site, messaging and fund-raising ideas came out of a long dinner and several follow-up phone and email exchanges, most of which Jen initiated.

Cheryl Sylvester, Coach & President, Beyond Success Leadership. Cheryl challenged my thinking and enriched my appreciation of key issues relating to Cycle 4 SchoolBOX branding, positioning and messaging.

Daryl Wood. Became my ‘instant’ supporter, as soon as I announced the Cycle4SchoolBOX. Offered me her home when I ride through Tobermory. Facilitated the introduction to John Davidson who walked across Canada (Jessie’s Journey) and continues to raise remarkable sums in relation to combating Muscular Dystrophy.

Jason Shim. In addition to very generous financial support, Jason shared with me his own ride-across-Canada experiences and then provided me a very comprehensive list of “top considerations” — covering such diverse topics as mindset, dealing with key challenges, proper hydration and nutrition, bike maintenance, riding safety, and many more. Jason also offered to help me with communications from the road, including voice-to-text transcriptions.

Valerie Reid. A student at the Canadian School of Natural Nutrition, Val helped me with optimal food choices as part of my training for my bike ride across Canada.  Students of the Canadian School of Natural Nutrition are required to work on actual case studies, as part of their educational requirement towards the Registered Holistic Nutritionist designation.

And just in case I forgot to mention you…please drop me a gentle reminder and I will gladly add your contribution to the list!

WITH GRATITUDE !!!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Mark Halpern
    June 20, 2011 at 9:58 am

    Hi Ilan
    Your updates are amazing. I went biking with son for 2.5 hrs yesterday for the first time this summer and my rear end was killing me (front end too). I could only think of your 8000+km ride…..Good Luck!! Mark

  2. Mark Halpern
    June 17, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    Hi Ilan
    Wow, I finally got to your blog for first time since you embarked and am now up to date on your comings and goings. You look fantastic! I’m jealous sitting here in my office. My good news is that I ran my first 10km run two Sunday’s ago….not quite an 8000km ride :)
    Enjoy the ride…..it’s amazing.
    Lots of love
    Mark

    • June 21, 2011 at 10:59 pm

      Hi Mark,
      Thanks so much for your comments and encouragement!
      Please keep them coming.
      Best,
      Ilan

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

