Home > Uncategorized > “The Good and the Bad”

“The Good and the Bad”

I like variety. In just about anything: friends, food, cycling routes, you name it. So today I headed north. Apologies for the weather report but it is relevant: today delivered crazy shifty winds, gusting in all directions, with occasional bouts of rain.

So much can happen in 3.5 hours of riding. So rather than make you read the ‘blow by blow’ I decided to experiment with another format: “The Good and the Bad”.

Good: tail winds.

Bad: any wind that is not a tail wind. For most of today’s ride it felt as if I was traversing a ski hill and needing to lean-in constantly. At other times I was cycling into an invisible wall. What does this mean in practical terms? During the one short segment where I had a tail wind my speed exceeded 40 kph (25 mph).  And then, for long stretches, I was lucky to hit 10 kph (6mph)! The good thing about this is that (1) it provides great cardio training and (2) and gives me permission to unleash many four-letter words at the top of my voice (to help regulate my breathing, naturally!)

Good: respectful drivers.

Bad: jerks who get off on seeing how close they can get to my bike as they drive past. I gave today’s “Jerk du jour” prize to a young twit in a fancy BMW two-seater: about 15 cm (6 inches) was his achievement.

Good: the experiences that you would probably miss had you not been on a bike. I rode up a hill to a stop. Then I noticed a wild noise coming from behind: it was as if a giant dragging numerous chains behind him was approaching. I looked back and could not believe my eyes: there must have been a hundred or more empty pop cans, five or six abreast, rolling noisily up the hill!

Bad: any wind that is not a tail wind. Ooops — already said that.

Good: having the right gear. Bike was working great. I did not get cold or wet. I had enough to drink and eat. (Cycling) life is good!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Carol Good
    May 1, 2011 at 11:05 am

    This is the literal “where the rubber hits the road” moment in this adventure – I will offer the Irish blessing for a journey – may the wind always be at your back!

  2. Sue Griggs
    April 29, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    Hi, Love the Good, the Bad and the Ugly format. Keep riding and let that sense of humour fly.

  3. April 29, 2011 at 8:46 am

    This is inspiring stuff Ilan. You might get us all to take up biking…

  4. linda
    April 29, 2011 at 8:36 am

    another very interesting posting. It’s great to be inspired by you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

